Welcome to Pottawatomie County

Pottawatomie County is an expansive county of 551,692
acres or 862 square miles. The northern portion of the
county is largely agricultural while many southern areas
consist of existing and planned developments.

The county contains several cities and towns including:
Belvue, Blaine, Duluth, Emmett, Fostoria, Havensville,
Louisville, East Manhattan, Olsburg, Onaga, St George,
St Marys, Wamego, Westmoreland and Wheaton.

Pottawatomie County is a growing county, population of
23,298 (KS Secretary of State 2016), with a continued
expansion of new construction in the housing markets and business sectors.

The county is diversified in its businesses

and industry and boasts an active Economic Development Program.
Pottawatomie County has a solid tax base and the 2nd
lowest mill levy in the state due in part to a County
government that believes in first-rate public services
balanced by fiscal responsibility. 

The county is home to several excellent school systems
including a High School nationally recognized for academics, two State Lakes and Tuttle Creek Reservoir.

          Scheduled Meetings:
  County Commission Meeting 5/1/17
  Planning Commission Special Meeting 4/27/17
Pottawatomie County 2017. All rights reserved.

Current Information
Planning & County Commission Joint Meeting
April 27, 7pm at Sunflower Room.
Discussion will be the Development Process and Pottawatomie County Comprehensive Plan.
Road Closing - Boxelder Rd
Feb 8, 2017 Boxelder Rd between LaClede Rd and Water Mill Rd will be closed approximately 2 months to replace a bridge.
Junkyard and Salvage Control Act
The Board of County Commissioners has asked that the provisions of the Junkyard and Salvage Control Act, K.S.A. 68-2201 et seq. be enforced in Pottawatomie County. That Act prohibits the accumulation of junked vehicles and other trash and debris within 1000 feet of a county or state roadway. Violation of the Act is a class C misdemeanor.
Notice to Taxpayers
2nd Half 2016 Taxes Due by May 10, 2017
Payment Options: In Person - By Mail - By Phone with Credit Card (additional fee applies).
207 North 1st Street PO Box 158 Westmoreland, KS
Lisa L. Wright, County Treasurer
Tire & Refrigeration Amnesty
May 1-31, 2017. 8:30am - 4:30pm
Passenger tire & refrigeration appliance amnesty for Pottawatomie Residents.
Business & Commercial haulers excluded
Landfill accepts HHW, oil, batteries, E-Waste, metal and brush daily at NO charge.
All regular trash shall be separated.
There will be a fee of 50% normal rate for all other non-passenger vehicle tires.
Appraiser's Office Reinspection of Properties
The Appraiser's Office will be completing a physical reinspection of properties in all areas of the county during the summer. We will identify ourselves and have ID's when we come to your door asking for dwelling or building information. If you are unsure or concerned about the person that comes to your door or have questions as to why they are there, please contact our office at 785-457-3500.
County Burn Policy
Emergency Alerts Now Available
Pottawatomie County will begin using the NE Kansas Notification System to communicate with citizens and businesses during emergencies and other critical events.
Residents are encouraged to register immediately to receive these alerts: Pottawatomie Emergency Alerts or by visiting NE KS Regional Emergency Alert System.
Individuals without internet access or a computer may contact the Pottawatomie Emergency Management Dept at 785-457-3358 to sign up for emergency alerts.
Zika Virus and Prevention
Marlatt/Junietta Extension Brochure
Complete Brochure: 2 page pdf - 1.14 MB
Page 1 - pdf - .5 MB
Page 2 - pdf - .7 MB (contains maps)